Colorado Binge Drinking Laws


 

Binge drinking is a serious problem that is affecting many underage drinkers as early as age 13. This behavior normally increases during high school and college, especially among males and decrease after college. Research shows, young adults ages 18 to 25 are most likely to binge drink heavily or misusing alcohol.

Colorado binge drinking – 911 immunity law in effect

Colorado among other states has enacted a “911 immunity laws.” This law encourages underage individuals to call for help in the event of an alcohol-related medical emergency. Those who call for help or need help will receive immunity from criminal charges. The laws only apply to the individual calling 911 and the person in need of help.

Colorado Binge drinking on the rise

As reported by the 1998 Monitoring the future survey, the prevalence of alcoholic beverages of American teenagers has been slowly increasing in recent years and binge drinking is a part of their weekend ritual. The survey shows the 33 percent of all high school seniors report binge drinking at least one in the 30-day interval before the survey.

A college national pastime

Alcohol abuse is one of the many challenges facing college campuses nationwide. On campuses across the country including Colorado has to deal with severe cases of binge drinking, especially on the weekends.

Drinking themselves to death- Binge drinkers in Colorado

The University of Colorado at Boulder Division of Student Affairs is working together with students, government entities and other organizations to create a safer environment both on and off campus. But some are saying that the problem of binge drinking on and off campuses cannot be controlled and it is a little too late to do anything about it. At Colorado State University, 19-year-old Samantha Spady died after downing between 30 and 40 drinks. At University of Colorado, 18-year-old freshman Lynn Gordon Bailey died in what was reported to be a hazing incident involving alcohol.

Should the drinking age be lowered to 18?

College presidents from some of the nation’s universities are calling on lawmakers to consider lowering the drinking age from 21 to 18, saying that by lowering the current drinking age will discourage dangerous binge drinking on campus.

Legal Age for Drinking Alcohol in Colorado

In the State of Colorado you must be 21 to drink alcohol

Open Container Laws in Colorado

No one in a vehicle may have an open alcohol container.

Blood alcohol content Limits

The maximum blood-alcohol content (BAC) level is .08 percent. For a driver with a higher BAC, he or she is considered ‘per se intoxicated’ and can be convicted on the BAC alone; no other evidence is required.

Colorado Binge Drinking Laws
4.2 (84%) 15 votes

Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:51:09.