Driving under the influence is a risky, dangerous act. In Ohio, a first offense suspends your license for a minimum of 6 months, so, it is serious. Ohio has some of the stiffest laws that try to curtail you from driving under the influence. However, there are some controversial laws that are in effect or can take effect in Ohio.
There is a push for the 21 Law, which would raise the legal drinking age to 21. This is to ensure that alcohol-related accidents are curtailed, for many of them are caused by drunk persons under the age of 21.
It is argued for the law that it would protect the development of youths. Alcohol can negatively affect the brain and body’s development, so to outlaw it until 21 ensures that more minors would have better health. Also, the trauma of being charged with DUI under the age of 21 can be devastating for some. It will affect your reputation and could prevent you from getting work as an adult. Likewise, it is said that the law saves lives, since many alcohol-related accidents involve drunk persons under the age of 21, as mentioned previously. It is also a fact that more young people die from alcohol-related causes than any other illegal drugs combined.
Those who argue against it say that as long as you are an adult, which is the age of 18, then you should be able to drink and buy alcohol. Many show maturity at that age and should be able to handle adult decisions at that age.
Other controversial laws in consideration or passed in Ohio
- Zero Tolerance Laws: This is law that doesn’t tolerate any alcohol in the bloodstream while driving. Many countries have this law in place for persons of all ages. However, in Ohio, the state has it for drivers under the age of 21. This means that no alcohol is allowed in your bloodstream while operating a vehicle if you are a minor.
- For a second DUI or OVI conviction, you would have to endure an electronic home monitoring device from 18 days to 6 months. Also, your license would be suspended for 1 to 5 years, and your vehicle would be immobilized for 90 days.
- For a third time conviction, the electronic home monitoring would have to be tolerated from 55 days to 1 year. Your license could be suspended from 1 to 10 years with a reinstatement fee of $450. Plus, your vehicle would be immobilized for 180 days.
- For a fourth time DUI conviction in Ohio, there is fine that could be as much as $10,000, and you could face up to a year in jail. Also, you could face a license suspension of 3 years to permanent suspension, and your vehicle would be mandatory forfeited.
It’s better not to drink in drive, but especially in Ohio, for there are stiff laws that most other states don’t impose.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:52:05.