Florida, like other states in the US, takes DUI (Driving under the influence) very seriously. The law is very precise and strict. The main reason is to discourage and prevent people from driving while intoxicated which can lead to severe harm to public and property.
Florida is one of the very busy states in the US and law and order is of critical concern. DUI in Florida is enacted in statutes and describes its constituent elements. The BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) limit for adults is 0.08% and for drivers at or under the age of 21, it is 0.02%. The process of investigating the motorist involves sobriety tests, field breath testing and eye tests to establish physical or mental impairment by intoxication (alcohol or drugs).
Once arrested, the motorist has only 10 days to request an Administrative Review Hearing to retain driving privileges, also called the “ten day rule”. A DUI attorney can help you get this. Failure to do so will result in at least 6 months suspension of license.
The penalties for DUI are very harsh in Florida and can involve fines up to US$2000 in a first conviction. There can also be jail time depending on the seriousness of the crime. The driving license can be revoked or suspended. For young drivers, 0.02% BAC or more will lead to an automatic six-month license suspension.
A DUI attorney in Florida must be hired to ensure that a harsh penalty is not given.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 13:44:45.