With constant amendments, DUI penalties in Illinois have become increasingly severe with each passing year. A DUI Attorney is becoming a necessity hire for any one charged.
The law has adopted many strategic ways to curb the growing number of DUI related offences (over 1500 traffic fatalities recorded in 2015) and is continuing to do so by imposing penalties on those convicted under DUI while setting an example for others to avoid driving while intoxicated.
The limit for BAC (Blood alcohol concentration) in Illinois remains 0.08%, meaning that if a driver above the age of 21 is found driving with at least that level of alcohol content, the driver will be considered legally drunk and will be charged with DUI offence. Illinois has also adopted the “zero tolerance law” under which drivers under the age of 21, having any amount of alcohol in their blood will be charged with DUI with an immediate effect of license revocation for 3 months on 1st violation.
The law enforcement officers have a right to stop a vehicle if there appears to be sufficient belief that the driver is impaired. They can carry out field sobriety tests (FSTs) and a field breath analysis. Upon a “probable cause”, they can even request the motorist to submit to a BAC test through blood, breath or urine. The drivers must allow this under the “implied consent rule”, or else they can face consequences. Penalties for DUI in Illinois involve jail sentence, fines, probation and even license suspension, all depending on the severity of the offence. Normally on 1st violation, an adult gets a minimum of 2 years’ loss of driving privileges.
In such a scenario it is necessary to hire a DUI attorney in Illinois to avoid being charged.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:07:57.