DUI (Driving under the influence) in Maryland is a condition when a person is either impaired of his proper driving abilities or when a BAC (Blood alcohol concentration) test determines that the person has an alcohol content over the legal limit of 0.08% in his body.
In addition to DUI, Maryland has also introduced a lesser offence called DWI (Driving while intoxicated) which does not have a legal limit set yet but is established when the officer has determined that the motorist’s driving is “substantially impaired” by either drugs or alcohol. The law has become so strict that anyone charged must hire a dui defense attorney rather than any criminal defense attorney in Maryland.
This “per se law” was introduced in year 2001, through pressures from MADD (Moms against drunk driving) and Washington Post and is enough proof to gain conviction for DUI.
Under Maryland DUI law, a chemical test to determine the level of alcohol is not a requirement but falls under the “implied consent” rule where the driver has submitted for police chemical testing. However, if the driver refuses to let the officers take the test, he/she will face consequences of license suspension up to 120 days. Based on precedent, many DUI convictions have been reported since the driver refuses to take the chemical test.
Similar to all other states, penalties play a crucial role in Maryland. They are considered very harsh and ones that are inescapable at all times. A conviction for a first offence can lead to several options for penalties in the shape of fines, license suspension, a DUI educational program and even a supervised probation for 1 to 3 years. For a second and third offence, some jail time is essential, along with community service, meetings with MADD (Moms against drunk driving) and an ignition interlock. That is why a DUI attorney that has a good past record on his cases will be able to help you get the lowest of fines.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:16:44.