DUI in Virginia is so strict that it becomes necessary to hire a DUI attorney. DUI can be proved either by proof of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or a mixture of both, which results in impairment of driving ability.
DUI can also be proved if “per se” laws have been violated, which means that a driver will be charged with DUI if he/she is found driving with a BAC (Blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08% or more. For minors, the BAC limit is 0.02% under the “zero tolerance law”.
DUI in Virginia has become a wide-spread issue over the years and the state of Virginia has introduced laws almost every year in an attempt to reduce the offence from being committed. Any individual will be stopped by a police officer, if s/he believes the person has been drinking. If stopped, the officer can request for FSTs (Field sobriety tests) or BAC tests (blood, breath, urine) to determine if the person is drunk. Under the implied consent rule, the driver must accept to take the tests, if he/she refuses to take any, s/he can face fines or license suspension on the spot. If found drunk, the driver will face DUI charges.
DUI is considered as a Class 1 Misdemeanor criminal offence in Virginia carrying imprisonment up to 1 year, fine up to $2500, and license suspensions.That is why it is prudent to hire a DUI attorney in Virginia. Upon conviction, the DUI charge becomes a part of the driver’s criminal record. If the driver has previous DUI conviction or was involved in an aggravated DUI also called Enhanced DUI in Virginia, s/he will face more severe penalties involving more jail time, fines, license revocation and ignition interlock system; which is a breath analyzer installed in the car.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:23:58.