Like all other states across America, if you drive within the state of Indiana with a BAC level higher than 0.08% you are liable to be charged fir DUI. This level is significantly reduced for minors under the age of 21 and drivers of commercial vehicles. They are legally allowed to drive with a BAC level of 0.02 and 0.04 respectively, thus prohibiting them from driving even if the consumed one beer.
Where Indians differs from most states is in how they handle DUI offenders. Right of the bat, if you are caught driving with a BAC level above 0.08%, you are immediately slapped with a “Class C” misdemeanor even if it is your first offence. In addition, DUI charges are not limited to alcohol consumption. The legislation also gives the same level of punishment for controlled substance such as marijuana, cocaine and methamphetamine.
Indiana Consent Law
Indiana consent law states that all drivers issued with a driver’s license within the state have by default agreed to submit themselves to a chemical test of their blood once they are suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol. In addition, if a driver should refuse the request of police for a chemical test, their license will be suspended automatically for one year.
Indiana 3-Step DUI Laws
Indiana DUI drivers are allowed three DUI offences before they are categorized as a habitual substance abuser and sent to prison for between one to eight years.
First time offenders must pay a fine between $300 and $5000 depending on the severity of your blood alcohol content. Indiana DUI first time offenders also face jail time not exceeding one year, suspension of your driver’s license for at least thirty days and a probation period in which they are only allowed to drive to work and back home. Some Indiana courts may also impose an ignition lock that requires the driver to test their blood alcohol level before they are allowed to start their vehicle.
Indiana second time DUI offenders can land you in jail for up to three years. You must also pay a fine not exceeding $10,000 and suspension of your driver’s license for between six months and two years. You will be placed on probation and mandated to attend substance abuse courses at your expense.
Indiana third time DUI offenders will result being charged with a “Class D” felony resulting in jail time not exceeding three years. In addition, your driver’s license may be suspended for up to ten years. You will also be labeled as a habitual substance abuser with a stern warning that you will put away for up to eight years if the offences further repeated. Some judges may also impose a stretch of community work, heavy fines and substance abuse rehabilitation that must be paid for from your pockets.
Indiana additional DUI Laws
If emergency vehicles have to be called to the scene of an accident as a result of a DUI, the offender must pay a fee of $1000 for the services. In addition, if a DUI offender has a previous charge with five years, they face being charged with a “Class B” felony that attracts jail time up to twenty years.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 15:14:34.