Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a very serious problem. The strict DUI laws that have been put into place are no exception to New Mexico. The State of New Mexico’s drunk driving law makes it illegal to drive a motor vehicle if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 percent or higher, this is the standard measurement in all states. However, the penalties are not the same. New Mexico has strict drinking and driving laws and penalties even if it is your first offense.
First Conviction – For your first DUIDWI offense in New Mexico, you will receive a fine of $500 and up to 90 days in jail. You will be required to attend a DWI school and rehab program. You will also have to pay for your ignition interlock license, install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, attend an alcohol and drug abuse screening program at your own expense and complete 24 hours of community service.
Second conviction – For your second DUI/DWI conviction in New Mexico, you will have to serve a mandatory 96 consecutive hours of jail time, pay a $500 fine, complete 48 hours of community service, attend an alcohol or drug abuse screening program at your own expense. The court will also specify a time frame in which you must complete an inpatient, residential or in-custody substance abuse treatment program that is at least 28 days in length or a similar drug rehab program. If deemed fit, the court could also order an additional 360 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Third conviction – Your third DUI/DWI conviction in New Mexico will get you a mandatory 30 consecutive days in jail, completion of 96 hours of community service, $750 in fine and participate in an alcohol and drug abuse screening program at your own expense and obtain and pay for your ignition interlock license and install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. The court could also sentence you to an additional 334 days in jail and an extra $250 fine. During a specific time frame set by the court, you must also complete an inpatient, residential or in-custody substance abuse treatment for 90 days or a similar drug rehabilitation program that is approved by the court.
Additional drunk driving convictions in New Mexico are considered felonies and are as follows:
Fourth conviction – For your fourth DUI/DWI offense in New Mexico, you will spend a mandatory minimum of 1 year in jail and be fined up to $5,000.
Fifth offense gets you 2 years in jail
Sixth offense will get you 30 months in jail
Seventh offense is 3 years in prison.
So, think twice before you get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle if you’ve been drinking in the State of New Mexico. It does not pay to get caught drinking and driving in New Mexico – It costs too much! Plus your freedom and future is on the line.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 15:07:24.