What are Michigan DUI Laws?
In Michigan drinking and driving regulations are called OMVI or Michigan OWI laws. There are three different types of driving while under the influence crimes in the state Michigan:
- Operating under the influence of intoxicating substance(liquor)
- Driving with an unlawful blood alcohol level
- Operating while impaired (OWI)
All these crimes will be prosecuted in criminal courts so, to be convicted of any of them it must be proven that you were driving a vehicle while under the influence of a intoxicating substance legal or otherwise. These crimes apply to adults and minors. In Michigan you are not allowed to drink if you are under the age of 21. Consequently, Michigan was a Zero Tolerance law for those under 21 that operate a vehicle with any blood alcohol level.
Penalties For OUIL, OWI, UBAC, And UBAL
If you are convicted or admit guilt of OUIL the worst punishment is a fine of not over $500.00 and court expenses, not more than 3 months and 3 days incarceration and not more than a month and a half obligatory community service.
For a second occurrence the state raises the fines plus costs to not more than $1,000.00, and 365 days year in jail.
For OWI if you are convicted or admit guilt you will get the max $300.00 in fines and court expenses, not more than 3 months and 3 days jail time and not more than 45 days of community service.
After the third offense of drunk driving you may be subjected to a felony charge with a penalty of 1 to 5 years times in prison and monetary fines of $5,000.00.
Also, a guilty offender’s license will be taken away certain lengths of time depending on the issues involved.
- OUIL 6 months to 24 months
- UBAL 6 months to 24 months
- UBAC 6 months to 24 months
- OWI 3 months to 12 months
Fortficure Of Vehicle
One of the worst penalties associated with drunk driving in the state of Michigan after time in jail is that the judge issuing the sentencing can take the car that the drunk driver was driving. Even if the car does not belong to the driver it can be taken away.
Michigan DUI WARNING
If you do not take the breath, blood or urine test when requested by the arresting officer when you are arrested this will be cause enough to take your license in Michigan. It will be suspended if you don’t ask for a hearing before 2 weeks.
Michigan drunk driving attorneys have specially trained in this area. Let one of them help you with your DUI legal problem.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:29:30.