Underage drinking is a serious offense in The State of Colorado. The legal age for drinking alcohol in Colorado is 21 years old. Zero Tolerance laws state that anyone under the age of 21 cannot drink alcohol and drive. Even if minors are caught driving only after one drink, they be punished for violating this law regardless of whether they are impaired while driving or not.
Colorado DUI penalties:
- A fine no more than $250
- May also order up to 24 hours community service
- May also order to submit to and complete an alcohol evaluation or assessment, an alcohol education program, or and alcohol treatment program at the defendant’s expense.
- A fine no more than $500
- Up to 24 hours community service
- Submit to and complete an alcohol evaluation or assessment, an alcohol education program, or and alcohol treatment program at the defendant’s expense
- Class 2 misdemeanor
- Submit to and complete an alcohol evaluation or assessment, an alcohol education program, or and alcohol treatment program at the defendant’s expense.
- May also be fined $25 that will go to the adolescent substance abuse prevention and treatment fund.
Colorado DUI exceptions for minors: can be arrested but not charged:
- While on private property with consent of parent or legal guardian who was present during the possession or consumption.
- If alcohol was part of a product not intended for human consumption, or part of a candy or pastry or if the beverage contained less than 1/2 of 1% alcohol by weight,
- or a student who tastes but did not swallow the alcohol while, being supervised by an instructor who is at least 21 years-old and employed by post-high school or enrolled in a university or post-high school that is accredited or certified or participating in a culinary arts, food service, or restaurant degree program.
- If consumption is for religious purposes.
- If a minor and one or two other individuals was in need of medical attention and called 911
Colorado underage DUI defense
Anyone under the age of 21 caught driving under the influence in Colorado with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% can have serious consequences. The help of a skilled underage Colorado DUI attorney is required to handle such cases. You can end up losing your license for two years or more years, fined and face jail time. If you or someone you know is facing such criminal defense matters. It is recommended that you enlist an experienced Colorado underage DUI attorney as soon as possible.
According to Colorado DUI LAW, an underage driver can be convicted for DUI even if his or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was lower than 0.08%. If your blood alcohol concentration was just 0.02%, you can still get what’s known as a “baby DUI,” which carry penalties as well.
Fake ID’s – are they worth the risk?
Many university students in Colorado including minors try to enter bars using fake IDs. A national cooperation called Cops In Shops is working collaboratively with local police and bars to catch fake ID holders. Participating bars will allow fake ID holders to enter the bar then signal undercover police officers, who then approach the individual removing him or her from the bar and either make an arrest or issue a ticket.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 15:09:58.