Underage drinking is a problem nationwide. However, in Pennsylvania, it has become costly and measures are taken against it. It can cause suicide, homicide, drowning, traumatic accidents, violent crimes, fetal alcohol syndrome, high risk sex, and alcohol poisoning. So, measures had to be taken to curtail these tragedies. Now, all states have made it illegal for a person under the age of 21 to possess alcohol. Pennsylvania has stiff laws against underage drinking and imposed harsh penalties for those drive under the influence and are under the age of 21. Concerning drinking laws, any person under the age of 21 is considered a minor.
Also, it is said that alcohol can adversely affect the brain of a developing person. This is why it is argued that the legal age for drinking should be raised to 21. Likewise, it is argued that the social stigma that you suffer if you were to be arrested for DUI while under the age of 21 is great. It could wreck your life at such an early age. Plus, drinking at a young age leads to drinking during an older age as well.
In Pennsylvania, like in other states, a minor can be tried as an adult.
Pennsylvania’s laws run differently than in most states. It penalizes according to the amount of blood alcohol is running in your system. A BAC of .08 to .099 has the lowest penalty, while a BAC of .10 to .159 has a higher penalty; and a BAC of .16 and above has the highest penalty.
- The 21 law: This requires that the legal age of drinking to be 21. Since most college students are between the ages of 18 to 22, this should combat the problem quite a bit. Pennsylvania, like many states, has a ZERO tolerance for minors, and a BAC of .02 is punishable.
- A first time offense with a BAC of .08 to .099 can cost you 6 months probation and a fine of up to $300. A second time DUI conviction can cost you 5 days to 6 months in jail and a fine of $300 to $2,500. Plus, your license could be suspended for up to 12 months. A third time DUI conviction in Pennsylvania can cost you from 10 days to 2 years in jail and a fine of $500 to $5,000. Also, you could lose your license for 12 months.
- A first time conviction with a BAC of .10 to .159 can make you face jail time of 2 days up to 6 months and could cost you a fine of $500 to $5,000. Your license could be suspended up to 12 months as well. A second time DUI conviction with this BAC level can cost you 30 days up to 6 months in jail. Plus, you would have to pay a fine of $750 to $5,000. Your license could be suspended for up to 12 months. A third time conviction can make you spend 90 days up to 5 years in jail and cost you a fine of $1,500 to $10,000. Along with that, you could lose your license up to 18 months.
Minors can be tried as adults for DUI convictions, so don’t drink and drive.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 15:14:48.