Do you know your DUI laws in New York? New York has one of the strictest drinking and driving laws in the country. A motorist with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent is more likely to cause an accident than a driver who has not been drinking. With increased blood alcohol concentration (BAC), drinking and driving related accidents increase sharply. Approximately one third of all the fatalities in New York are drunk driving related.
How much can I drink before my ability to drive is affected?
Consuming any amount of alcohol will affect your ability to drive. This is the main reason why New York State has such a strict drinking and driving law and makes it illegal for any driver or passenger to possess an alcoholic beverage with intent to consume, known as the “open container” law. It is also illegal to purchase alcohol if you are under 21 years old.
Increased risk of getting stopped for DUI in New York
The chances of being caught drinking and driving in New York are much greater because every county in New York State as a STOP-DWI program which results in more police officers with better and updated equipment on the roads looking for drivers who are breaking New York’s DUI laws. In addition to the drinking and driving enforcement, this program also provides more district prosecution, adjudication and education.
Don’t get caught drinking and driving in New York
If you are stopped by a New York police officer who suspects that you are driving under the influence of alcohol or other illegal substances, you may be asked to take a field sobriety test to determine the presence of alcohol in your system. Driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a crime in New York. If you are convicted, you will end up facing severe penalties such as:
- Substantial fine
- Revocation of your driver’s license
- Increased in car insurance rates
- Mandatory surcharge
- And possibly jail time
New York’s under 21 driver license penalties
- If you are under 21 years old and convicted of DWI or DWAI in New York State, your driver license will be revoked for one year.
- A second offense will get your license revoked for at least one year or until you are 21 years old, whichever is longer.
- If you sign up for a drinking and driving program (DDP) and receive a conditional license, your license will stay in conditional status throughout the revocation period.
- If you use a New York State driver license of Non-Driver Identification Card to purchase alcohol illegally, applying for a driver’s license or your drivers license will be suspended if you are found guilty of those charges.
- The above penalties also apply to motorboat and snowmobile operators under 21.
Everyone should be aware of New York’s DUI laws and drink and drive responsibly. The life you save could very well be your own.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:52:42.