In the State of North Carolina, you cannot operate a motor vehicle with a .08 percent or greater blood alcohol concentration (BAC). However, if you are under 21 years old it is illegal for minors to have any amount of alcohol or illegal substances in their system. North Carolina has strict laws regarding DUI/DWI which are strongly enforced, so be aware!
North Carolina Implied Consent Law
North Carolina has an implied consent law which states that if you drive in North Carolina, you agree to submit to a chemical test of your blood, breath or urine if an officer of the laws suspects that you are driving while intoxicated.
First North Carolina DUI/DWI Offense – Your first drunk driving conviction in North Carolina will get your license suspended for one year mandatory sentencing and you will have to participate in a substance abuse treatment program.
Second North Carolina DUI/DWI Offense – For your second drunk driving arrest and conviction in North Carolina, your license will be suspension for four years if previous DUI/DWI was within three years, you will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and ordered to attend a substance abuse evaluation or treatment program.
Third North Carolina DUI/DWI Offense – The third drunk driving conviction in North Carolina is a Class “F” Felony Habitual Impaired Driving (If Other Offenses Within 10 Years), imprisonment for 12 months minimum sentence, driver’s license suspension- permanent revocation if last offense was within five years, installation of ignition interlock device at your own expense required for seven years if restoration is permitted, vehicle forfeiture is a possibility, and substance abuse evaluation or treatment program is required.
Fourth North Carolina DUI/DWI Offense – Your fourth drunk driving conviction in the state of North Carolina, if other offenses were within 10 years, is a Class “F” Felony Habitual Impaired Driving, imprisonment for 12 months minimum sentence, suspension of license – permanent revocation if three previous were within the last seven years, installation of ignition interlock device which is required for seven years if restoration is allowed and participation in a substance abuse assessment or treatment program.
North Carolina DUI and underage: First time conviction
If you are under 21 and this is your first DUI conviction, you will get your license revoked for the following:
- Under 21 and attempts to illegally purchase or purchase an alcoholic beverage.
- Under 21 and helps or encourages someone in the purchase of alcohol.
- Under 21 and uses a fake ID to purchase alcoholic beverage.
- Under 21 and convicted for driving with any amount of alcohol or drugs in his or her body.
Drinking and driving is not taken lightly in North Carolina. The laws are strictly enforced and you will have to pay the price of drinking and driving when caught. Play it safe – don’t drink and drive!
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:56:59.