Don’t get caught drinking and driving in Ohio, as a matter of fact do not drink and drive period. Driving while your abilities are impaired is a serious offense with devastating consequences. While your driving is impaired by alcohol or any illegal substances, you can cause serious injuries to you, your passengers other motorists and innocent bystanders. This is why Ohio has strict laws regarding driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI), which are strictly enforced – so be warned!
Ohio DUI penalties
First offense – The first time you are arrested and convicted of drunk driving in Ohio, you will receive an Administrative License Suspension (ALS) for 90 days, plus a court ordered suspension from 6 months to 3 years in duration. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was between 0.08percent – 0.17percent, you will have to serve a mandatory 72 hours jail and fined anywhere from $250 and $1000.
Second offense – The second drunk driving conviction in The State of Ohio will cost you a 1 year Administration License Suspension (ALS) if it was within 6 years of your previous DUI in addition to your court ordered suspension that will be from 1 to 5 years. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was between 0.08 percent – 0.17 percent you will serve a mandatory 10 days in jail, a fine ranging from $350 and $1500 and the court may also place you in an alcohol treatment or intervention program at your own expense.
Third offense – A third drunk driving conviction in the State of Ohio will get you a 3 year administrative license suspension (ALS) if the conviction is within 6 years of the first DUI, a court ordered suspension that will be from 2 to 10 years and pay a fine between $500 and $2500. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was between 0.08 percent – 0.17 percent you will be placed in jail for a minimum of 30 days or house arrest. The court will also order you to participate in an alcohol or drug treatment program at your own expense.
Ohio DUI Administration License Suspension (ALS)
A three year administration license suspension (ALS) will be given to all fourth and fifth drunk driving convictions in the State of Ohio, if the conviction is within 6 years of the first DUI conviction in addition to a court ordered suspension that will be from 3 years to life. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was between 0.08 percent – 0.17 percent you will serve a mandatory minimum 60 days in jail or up to 1 year. The court can also charge fourth and any future DUI convictions a 5 year jail sentence and a fine of $800-$10,000.
This is a basic overview of the DUI laws in Ohio. If you need help with a DUI charge, please enlist the service of a qualified Ohio DUI lawyer or attorney who is specialized in Ohio DUI cases as soon as possible.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 15:08:04.