Driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or both substances is illegal in the state of Oklahoma. Anyone who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher is doing so illegally and is breaking Oklahoma’s DUI law and could receive severe punishment.
DUI laws in Oklahoma are as follows:
- The first time DUI you receive in Oklahoma will get your driver’s license suspended for 30 days, a minimum of 10 days in jail up to 1 year jail sentence, fined up to $1000 in addition to other charges, which could include a $75 processing fee, a $200 trauma fee, a $25 reinstatement fee if ordered by the court.
- The second time you receive a drunk driving conviction in the State of Oklahoma, it will be considered a felony conviction if your DUI occurs within 10 years of your first Oklahoma DUI charge. You will be sentenced of no less than 1 year and up to 5 years jail time. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months and you will be fined up to $2500. Other charges could include fees for restricted license such as; a processing fee, trauma fee and reinstatement fee, if ordered by the court.
- The third and subsequent Oklahoma DUI convictions are all considered felonies. You will be sentenced and have to serve a minimum of 1 year and possibly up to 10 years jail time, up to $10,000 in fines and a 1 year suspension of your driver’s license. Other penalties could include; a processing fee, a reinstatement fee, a trauma fee and a restricted license fee, if allowed by the court. In addition to these fees you will also have to pay to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle at your own expense.
Oklahoma BAC Laws:
- It is illegal for any motorist to drive with a BAC of .08 or higher,
- Be under 21 years old with a BAC of .02 – or ZERO Tolerance,
- Commercial vehicle drivers with a BAC of .04 or greater.
The Implied Consent Law in Oklahoma
The implied consent law in Oklahoma states that all drivers in the State of Oklahoma agree to submit to a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine if an officer of the law suspects the driver of being under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both.
DUI in Oklahoma is a serious offense – Get help!
Remember, driving is a privilege and drinking and driving is not to be taken lightly so if you think you have a substance abuse problem, get the help you need that could end up saving your life and possibly the life of others.
Knowing your Oklahoma DUI laws can keep you safe and out of trouble.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:42:50.