Oregon DUI laws are some of the strictest in the country. Being convicted of driving under the influence of any intoxicants in Oregon has extremely serious consequences and penalties. While plea deals are common in some states, in Oregon you are not able to plea-bargain to lesser charges. This is why it is so important to know your DUI laws in Oregon and follow them to the best of your ability. It is also a good idea to consult with a top Oregon DUI defense attorney if you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence or any DUI-related offense.
Oregon DUI arrests
Oregon DUI arrest, also called DUII, for driving under the influence of intoxicants has two separate cases:
- A criminal court case – may include jail time, fines, mandatory classes, required installation of ignition interlock devices among others and
- A DMV case – driver’s license may be suspended.
Oregon DUI penalties
All DUI/DUII convictions in Oregon must receive a mandatory alcohol evaluation to determine the extent of the alcohol problems.
The first time you are arrested for drunk driving in Oregon you will receive a mandatory 1 year suspension of your drivers license, spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail or serve 80 hours of community service. You will also be ordered to pay a minimum fine of $1000, and charged with other fees such as; assessment fee, intoxicated driver program fee, unitary assessment fee, a county assessment fee and a diagnostic fee.
The court may also order:
- You to attend a Victims Impact Panel.
- Court-appointed attorney fees reimbursement.
- A probationary period.
- At minimum of 48 hours in jail or 80 hours of public service.
- A unitary and statutory assessment fee.
- You to obey all laws during the probation period.
- And many more
If you are convicted of a second DUI/DUII in the State of Oregon you will receive a mandatory 3 years suspension of your drivers license if the offense occurred within 5 years of the first DUI. You will also spend from 48 hours to 1 year in jail, fined $1500, in addition to other fees such as: diagnostic fee, unitary assessment fee, county assessment fee, intoxicated driver program fee, and assessment fee.
If you haven’t learned your lesson after your second DUI conviction and is arrested and convicted for a third drunk driving offense in the State of Oregon you will have your drivers license permanently revoked. You will spend from 48 hours to 1 year in jail. You will have to pay a minimum fine of $2000 plus you will be charged with other DUI-related fees.
PLEASE NOTE:DUI laws in Oregon may change from time to time, thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. If you are in need of legal assistance, you should contact a criminal defense attorney in Oregon as soon as possible.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:57:38.