Rhode Island driving under the influence (DUI) or Operating Under the Influence of alcohol or drugs (OUI)) laws make it illegal for anyone driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. No person shall operate a motor vehicle in Rhode Island while they have a blood concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or more by weight of alcohol in the person’s system as shown by chemical analysis, in your blood, breath, urine or saliva.
Rhode Island DUI/OUI Punishment May Include the Following:
- Jail time
- Community service
- Alcohol education programs
- Alcohol evaluation and treatment
- Installed of an ignition interlock device on your car at your expense
Most Rhode Island DUI/OUI charges are misdemeanors; however, a third-offense within five years is considered a felony. If you had a previous conviction for a similar offense, or commit a similar offense in the future, the OUI punishment will be increased. However, if the prior offense is more than five years old, it will not count for purposes of enhancing a current drunk driving charge.
First DUI/OUI Offense in Rhode Island
- 08-.10 BAC will get you a fine between $100-$300.
- You will be ordered to perform 10-60 hours of public service.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for 30-180 days.
- You may be ordered to attend a drunk driving program.
- You could be sentenced up to 1 year in jail.
Second DUI/DWI Offense in Rhode Island
- Your second DUI in the State of Rhode Island within 5 years of the first conviction will get you a mandatory fine of $400.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for about 1-2 years.
- You will be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 10 days up to 1 year in jail.
- At the discretion of the judge, you may be ordered to attend an alcohol and/or drug treatment program.
- You will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for a period of 1-2 years following the completion of the sentence.
Third DUI/DWI Offense in Rhode Island
- 3rd DUI within a 5 year period is a felony; you will receive a mandatory $400 fine.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for a period of 2-3 years.
- You will be sentenced to no less than 1 year in jail.
- You will be required to participate in an alcohol or drug treatment program.
- The judge may have you install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
- At the discretion of the judge, your vehicle may be seized and sold by the State of Rhode Island.
As shown above, Rhode Island DUI/OUI/DWI laws are some of the strictest in the northeast. Just play it safe and don’t drink and drive.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:28:53.