The state of Utah, especially in the Salt Lake City area, has seen a dramatic increase in the number of DUI arrest involving alcohol and drug abuse. This has prompted Utah Highway patrol to launch an aggressive campaign that they use to both educate Utah drivers about the dangers of drunk driving and the various laws and repercussions associated with them.
Design of Utah DUI Laws
Though many of Utah DUI laws may seem unreasonable, Utah DUI laws were designed to give DUI offenders as much discomfort as possible so they will be more responsible the next time they decide to consume alcohol. As a result, the first line of action any DUI offender should take if they have been arrested on suspicion of a DUI is to contact a reputable Utah DUI lawyer who will be able to defend their case and guide them through the many hours they will be tied up in the legal system.
Depending on whether it is the driver’s first offence, the consequences of their actions may range from increased insurance costs, licenses suspension, court costs and penalties, installation of interlocking devices or mandatory counseling.
Penalties for DUI in Utah
The penalties associated with Utah’s DUI laws depend on various factors. These include if you are a first time or repeat offender, minor or if there was a minor present in the car at the time of your arrest. Some of Utah’s DUI laws include:
- Utah First time DUI Offenders: On the first offence, Utah’s DUI offenders are required to spend at least 48 hours in jail after their arrest. This jail time however, can be commuted to 48 hours of community service. Utah first time DUI offenders if found guilty, must also pay a minimum fine of $700. They also must endure license suspension for at least 120 days with the potential of electronic monitoring. Finally, Utah first time DUI offenders must attend alcohol abuse counseling and assessment before they are allowed to drive on the state’s streets again.
- Utah Second Time DUI Offenders: Utah’s DUI laws for second time offenders are similar to that for first time offenders but with more bite. Second time offenders must spend at least 240 hours in jail or have this time commuted to community service. In addition, the must pay at least $800 in fines and have their license suspended for 2 years. The punishment steps up a notch where second time offenders is mandated to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle for at least 3 years if the second DUI conviction is your second in the last 10 years. They must also attend alcohol abuse counseling.
- Utah Third Time DUI Offenders: A third time DUI in Utah is not treated lightly. Even without a conviction, once you have been arrested for a DUI in Utah for the third time, you must spend at least 1500 hours in jail. If convicted, you are slapped with a $1500 fine along with a mandatory suspension of your driver’s license. In addition, Utah third time DUI offenders must install an ignition interlock device for at least three years if the third offence is within ten years of your last DUI offence, attend alcohol abuse rehabilitation and undergo supervised probation.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 15:21:29.