DUI Laws in Wisconsin


 

Wisconsin driving under the influence laws forbids anyone driving a vehicle while intoxicated by alcohol, drugs (legal or otherwise), or anything that would impair your ability to control a motor vehicle in a acceptable manner without causing a hazard to others or yourself.

Limit On Level Of Intoxicates In Ones System

Wisconsin law also forbids driving with a certain level of alcohol in ones system whether a driver is impaired or not. Wisconsin will prosecute anyone found operating a vehicle with an alcohol level of .08 percent or more.

Summary of Notable Wisconsin Vehicle Sanctions:

Vehicle Confiscation and Forfeiture In Wisconsin

After a 3rd driving under the influence conviction in Wisconsin, the state could order the confiscation a DUI offenders vehicle that was used in the crime and is registered to the driver convicted of DUI.

Ignition Interlock Devices(IIDs)

Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) may be placed on an offenders vehicle after a 2nd offense of the DUI laws in Wisconsin or if one does not submit to a chemical testing of one’s blood, breath, or urine by the state. This device prevent anyone from driving a vehicle it is applied to unless a breath sample is provided and said sample is of a acceptable limit for operating a motor vehicle.

DUI Immobilization

A Immobilization device can be placed on a vehicle to prevent it functioning. This is done on a second offense also.

Wisconsin Fines and Punishments

1st conviction of driving under the influence:

  • fine of $150 to $300,
  • OWI surcharge of $355,
  • license revocation from 6 to 9 months

2nd conviction of driving under the influence

  • fine range of $350 to $1,100
  • $355 surcharge,
  • jail from 5 days to 6 months,
  • license revocation from 12 to 18 months.

3rd conviction of driving under the influence

  • fine range of $600 to $2000,
  • $355 surcharge,
  • jail from 30 days to 1 year,
  • license forfeiture from 2 to 3 years.

4th conviction of driving under the influence

  • fine range of $600 to $2,000, plus the
  • $355 surcharge,
  • jail from 60 days to 1 year,
  • revoking of license for 2-3 years.

5th conviction of driving under the influence is a felony offense.

  • minimum fine of $600 but not more than $2,000,
  • $355 surcharge,
  • imprisonment of not less than 6 months or more than 5 years,
  • lost of license for 2 to 3 years.

Driving under the influence lawyers are specially trained. Find a experienced and qualified DWI attorney to help you with a solution to your DUI legal issues when you are charged with this serious crime.

DUI Laws in Wisconsin
Rate this post

Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:38:44.