DUI Law in Virginia
The DUI law in the state of Virginia is revisited every year in order introduce stricter regulations to ensure safer roads and prevention of drunken driving accidents. The law per se convicts a person under DUI if his BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level is more than .08%. Zero Tolerance Law is observed for drivers below the age of 21, which means a BAC of .02% or more is considered an offence under Virginia State laws.
The field officers can stop any vehicle they suspect to be driven by an intoxicated person or a person impaired of driving capabilities. He is expected to cooperate with the officers in performing Field Sobriety Test (FST) under the implied consent rule.
Extreme DUI Law in Virginia
An extreme DUI condition is one where is the BAC level of the driver is .15% to .18%. These drivers are titled as ‘dangerous’. According to survey reports those drivers who carry a BAC level of .15% to .18% are those who have developed tolerance with alcohol. In general people cannot take enough alcohol to make their BAC levels .15% to .18%, ‘cause it leads to vomiting.
Penalties for Extreme DUI in Virginia
Statistics show that 2/3rd of all drunken driving accidents are due to ‘Extreme DUI’. The offences committed are serious and a major cause for fatal accidents. A regular DUI offence is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor and a criminal offence. Jail term for a year, fine upto $2,500 along suspension of license are the punishments following a DUI offence. Extreme DUI involves severe penalties like extended jail term upto 10 to 12 years, heavy fines ranging from $5,000 to $750,000, revocation of license along with ignition interlock system. Vehicle impoundment is ordered where you have been spotted driving after suspension of license.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 13:58:34.