Being convicted of a DUI in New Jersey is a serious offense carrying heavy penalties. If you drive in New Jersey you automatically give consent to a chemical analysis. The State of New Jersey has an implied consent law which means that anyone who drives on the roadways of New Jersey has consented to submitting to a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine if a police officer suspects that he or she is driving under the influence of alcohol or is intoxicated.
What happens if I refuse to take the field sobriety test?
If you refuse to submit to this test your drivers license will be suspended for up to 1 year on your first refusal and you will be fined anywhere from $250 to $500. Your second refusal to take the test will result in your drivers license being suspended for 2 years and 10 years for a third refusal.
New Jersey DUI penalties may include:
- Fines, fees and surcharges
- Revocation of your drivers License
- Installation of ignition interlock device at your own expense
- Jail sentence
- Rehabilitation programs
- Mandatory community service
- And much more
New Jersey DUI penalties: Know your DUI laws in New Jersey
First offense – Your first conviction for drunk driving in New Jersey will get your license suspended for up to 3 months, 30 days in jail, $250-$400 fine, spend a minimum 6 hours a day for two consecutive days in an intoxicated driver resource center and pay an automobile insurance surcharge of $1000 a year for the following three years.
Second offense – The second arrest and conviction for drinking and driving in New Jersey you will be fined $$500-$1000, serve 90 in jail, license suspended for 7 months to one year, spend a minimum of 6 hours a day for 2 consecutive days in an intoxicated driver resource center and pay an auto insurance surcharge of $1000 a year for the following three years.
Third Offense – The third conviction for a DUI in the State of New Jersey will cost you $1000 in fine, license suspension for 10 years, 180 days in jail and an auto insurance surcharge payment of $1500 a year for 3 years.
What are New Jersey blood alcohol concentration laws?
In New Jersey, a person with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher who operates a motor vehicle or a boat is considered to be driving under the influence (DUI). All drivers with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or greater is breaking New Jersey’s DUI law. However, if you are under 21 years old with a blood alcohol concentration of .01 or any detectable amount of alcohol in your system, you are breaking New Jersey’s DUI law. And any commercial vehicle driver with a blood alcohol concentration of .04 of higher is breaking New Jersey’s DUI law.
As mentioned above, New Jersey has strict DUI laws for drunk driving, and when you drink and drive in New Jersey, you are putting yourself and innocent lives at risk. The best thing to do is don’t drink and drive – Be safe!
Originally posted 2016-12-11 15:15:05.