California DUI Law
Driving under Influence (DUI) offense carries strict penalties and punishments under the California Driving Laws. A person is convicted under the DUI offense, where he is found driving under the influence of alcohol and secondly is tested to have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) above the legal limit of .08%. The officers confirm intoxication by performing the Field Sobriety Test (FST). Refusal to do a chemical test will lead to immediate suspension of license.
DUI Probation in Los Angeles
The possible penalties for first time offences often range from heavy fines, probation and license suspension or supervision and enhanced punishments such as jail term and ignition lock devices if it is a felony charge. During the DUI probation period the courts may order compulsory alcohol treatment or may require the offender to attend a DUI school during probation. Attending to these requirements reduce penalty for DUI offence. DUI probation is considered a privilege and is not available to repeat offenders. It is extremely important to ensure not to get arrested for any other violation, which in turn will aggravate the penalties.
Types of DUI Probation
There are two kinds of probation prescribed by the court of law. For the first and second DUI offense the court prescribes court probation, while for the third DUI offense a court or a formal probation is prescribed on a case to case basis.
Court/Summary Probation: Under the court or the summary probation the DUI offender is not required to report to any officer but is absolutely restrained from drinking and driving during the probation period which may extend from 3 to 5 years.
Formal Probation: Under the formal probation the DUI offender is required to report to the Probation Officer on a regular basis. This may also range for a period of 3 to 5 years. The nature of probation depends on what your defense lawyer has to say on your behalf.
Originally posted 2016-12-11 14:17:45.